5 things the royal baby will inherit

The royal baby will be one lucky little human. Check out this list of incredible things s/he will inherit

1 / 6
William and Kate

The perks of being born into the royal family

Sometime this July, Prince William and Kate Middleton will welcome their child into the Royal Family. And while being born into the British Royal Family doesn’t have as many perks as a few centuries ago (such as unquestioned, sovereign rule over an empire), the new addition will inherit more than just a title, including the following:

2 / 6

The Duchy of Lancaster

While the royalty don’t technically own crown lands, the Duchy of Lancaster is a portfolio of land, property and assets held in a trust for the Sovereign in His or Her role as Duke of Lancaster. Since its establishment in the 1300s, the Duchy has passed on the Monarch’s heir upon their passing. The Duchy is about 46,000 acres of land that includes urban developments, historic buildings, and farm lands in many parts of England. Valued at 348 million pounds, each year, the property generates about 13 million pounds of revenue that gets distributed to the royalty to pay for ongoing costs.

3 / 6
fat tax grocery money

Tax exemption

Through an agreement with 1993 Prime Minister John Major and Queen, the monarch is exempt from the usual 40 percent inheritance tax on large estates.

4 / 6
buckingham palace

High-class lodgings

William and Kate’s baby will have use of royal palaces, including Buckingham Palace, Clarence House, Hampton Court Mews and Paddocks, Kensington Palace, Marlborough House Mews, St. James’s Palace, and Windsor Castle.

5 / 6
whale ocean sea

Sea life

Citing a statue from 1324 during the reign of King Edward II, the monarch possesses the whales, sturgeons, and dolphins taken in the seas within the realm. These form of sea life are recognized as “Fishes Royal” and when captured within three miles of a shore within the monarchy can be claimed on behalf of the crown.

6 / 6

Stunningly beautiful loaner jewelry

The collection of precious jewelry and royal finery amassed through the centuries is known as the Crown Jewels. Yeomen Warders, also called Beefeaters, guard the Crown Jewels in the Tower of London, which has housed the royalty’s valuables since the 14th century. Among these treasures are what’s called regalia, meaning the crowns, emblems, swords, rings, and robes of past and present royalty. These items are part of the English coronation service and still used today. A couple of notable pieces include the Sovereign’s Scepter, which includes the First Star of Africa, a flawless 530 carat diamond; and Queen Elizabeth’s 1937 coronation crown with the 106-carat Koh-i-Nur (Mountain of Light) diamond.

How the royal family stays fit
How Kate Middleton is prepping for natural birth
Get royally toned in time for your wedding

Newsletter Unit